Google+ vs. Facebook: The love triangle begins

It’s not what it looks like, Facebook. I swear we’re just friends!

@theBTWWTF
Oh, so NOW Google+ wants us? Well, as Groucho Marx once said, “I refuse to join any club that would have me as a member.”

#denial would be the appropriate hash tag here. I knew as soon as I sent that tweet, I was totally gunna fall hard. From that moment on, I couldn’t stop thinking about Google+, which opened up to everyone today. Within 10 minutes I had my own personal Google+ Account.

Ever since those little +1’s first starting popping up all over the place, I’ve been more than a little curious about this wondrous and elusive new social media platform called Google+. Alas, I wasn’t one of the fortunate elite who was grandfathered into the whole VIP, invite-only, passed hors d’oeuvres, limited trial.

So far my first impressions of G+ are more of a + than a -. I wouldn’t necessarily call it love at first sight. Let’s just say, I’m intrigued …

+: The interface is pretty spiffy. You can drag and drop stuff. It’s got all sorts of fun circles and bright colors. I love how you can personalize your profile with all your external links. Google+ makes Facebook look a bit dinosaur-ish. Maybe that’s why, as Mashable reports, Facebook is launching a major profile redesign with f8.

+: You can edit your posts, even after they’re posted. That’s like a dream come true (I often fantasize about a world without grammatical errors).

+: Notifications are integrated right into your gmail dashboard, which is awesome. I guess Google learned from their mistakes with Buzz and Wave on this one.

+: The mobile app is super cool and easy to use and explore. So far it ranks high on my Short-Attention-Span Button Pushing Meter (SASBPM). I wasted at least a good 15 minutes of undisturbed time fiddling around with it.

: Not a lot of my friends are on G+ yet, so I got bored fairly quickly. Even though Wired has challenged a widely-circulated theory by PBS MediaShift that G+ is “worse than a ghost town,” I’m pretty sure I saw a tumbleweed roll by.

: It felt a teensy bit like I was cheating on Facebook. I think it’s because I’ve been so intimately involved with Facebook for so many years. G+ is the shiny, the new, the unknown. Sort of exciting. Right now I’m in the honeymoon phase. But only time will tell if G+ and I can make it last.

5 thoughts on “Google+ vs. Facebook: The love triangle begins

  1. I’m not won over yet, since not a lot of my “circles” are on Google+, plus you have to use the + sign to write about it. I’ll keep fiddling…Glad you’re in my circle, though. xo

  2. It’s also been crickets for me, and I’ve been on it for a while (begged for an invite, shameless, I know). I was enamored at first, but now, eh. It’s just not enough to interact with, and lots of strangers are adding me, which only seems like self-promotion, which is kind of annoying.

Leave a Reply

