Why I’m breaking up with Facebook: A Dear John Letter

Facebook logo

Image via Wikipedia

Dear Facebook,

Oh how I struggle with this decision, even as I write this. We’ve had so many good times. But I  think it’s safe to say what we both know: Lately we’ve just grown apart. I feel like I don’t even know you anymore.

It was fun at first. The relentless poking. The constant checking for new notifications. The long hours we spent together late into the night. I could hardly wait until morning to see you again.

But then you started violating of my privacy. Shoving your agenda in my face.  Bombarding me with useless information. Distracting me from actual reality. Occasionally, you bragged about parties I wasn’t invited to. Often you made me feel inferior to others for the dreams I never acheived. Or ashamed for sharing the dreams I did.

I wanted to make it work. Really, I did. I thought I just needed some space. I tried spending my free time with Twitter. I even gave Four Square a shot.

But the other Social Networks couldn’t fill the gap. They made me feel empty inside.

That’s why I’m breaking up with you. To find myself again. I know this won’t make me popular with family and friends who think we should stay together. But it’s the right decision for me. This is my chance to live my life to the fullest again, in the moment, and in the real world; Not with my face buried in my smart phone factory-loaded Facebook App, lightly stalking your News Feeds.

It’s not you, Facebook. It’s me.

Warm Regards,

Aleza

7 thoughts on “Why I’m breaking up with Facebook: A Dear John Letter

  1. Pingback: Modern Soliloquy « Beyond My Window

  2. Pingback: Google+ vs. Facebook: The love triangle begins « By the way, what the … ?!?!

  3. Pingback: The Facebook problem « BTWWTF?!?!

Leave a Reply

