SMADHD

Posted by S.

You may be thinking, what is SMADHD? Break it down for me. Smad-hud?

Nope.

She’s Mad At Dad in Hi Def?

Wrong.

OK, OK, it stands for: Social Media Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, and I believe that’s my affliction.

Too much Twitter. Too much Facebook. Too much networking, trying to communicate in the ether with social media mavens with followings five times as large as mine. Trying to get noticed. Trying to spread the word. It’s too much! When will it end??

But I can’t stop. I think I’m addicted. I like looking at the bit.ly stats of the links I send out. I like checking my Klout report to gauge my influence on Twitter. I love meeting new tweeps! I love getting new Facebook fans! It’s like an alternative reality that I have a little bit of power to control.

The funny thing is, I am not alone. There are many out there who suffer from SMADHD, but they have no way to diagnose their symptoms. So, I invented this acronym to describe the problem.

The only real treatment is to log off. Break loose. Take a breather. Maybe go to a desert island with no Internet and no cell phone reception. We as a society are already walking around plugged in to our hand-held devices for a majority of our waking hours. Our screen time is longer than our face time. What will be the implications? The floor is open.

One thought on “SMADHD

  1. Pingback: This is your brain, this is your brain on Facebook « BTWWTF?!?!

Leave a Reply

